Howard J. Atlas is one of only 500 certified elder law professionals in the United States. From providing guidance on long-term care to demystifying Medicaid qualification, Howard and his team of legal specialists are committed to providing aging and disabled individuals with compassionate, hands on legal advice.

Elder Law is the highly specialized practice of counseling and representing the elderly and their families as to the legal aspects of important areas such as:

  • Medicaid Planning
  • Asset Protection
  • Estate Planning
  • Special Needs Planning
  • Estate and Trust Administration

Elder Law is now a formally recognized legal specialty accredited by the American Bar Association.  The Elder Law certification program established by the National Elder Law Foundation (NELF) requires that an attorney satisfy the following requirements to become a certified Elder Law attorney:

  1. Licensed and practiced law in good standing for five (5) years preceding the certification;
  2. Have spent at least 16 hours per week practicing Elder Law during the past three (3) years prior to certification and have handled at least 60 Elder Law matters during those same three (3) years with a specified distribution among subjects defined by NELF;
  3. An attorney must have participated in at least 45 hours of continuing legal education in the area of Elder Law during those three (3) preceding certification;
  4. An attorney must have received five (5) references from attorneys familiar with the attorney’s competence and qualifications in Elder Law;
  5. Pass a full-day certification examination; and
  6. Complete the recertification process every five (5) years.